He has everything to fit in almost every role with perfection. You saw him as a reporter in Bajrangi Bhaijaan and as well as a killer gangster in Gangs of Wasseypur. He can pull any role flawlessly, without any chance to think of any flaw. This is the Black Prince of Bollywood, Nawazuddin Siddiqui. Yes, we quote him the Black Prince because that is how we discriminate people- Black & White. Despite giving us so many paramount performances, the 43 year old actor has to face difficulties securing roles because of his conventional looks and yes, color.

On 17th July, the Raman Raghav 2.0 action thriller actor tweeted a post about racism in the entertainment industry- Bollywood, which left all of us speechless and surprised. Siddiqui wrote, “Thank U 4 making me realize dat I cannot b paired along wid d fair and handsome bcz I m dark and not good looking, but I never focus on that. (sic)”

nawazuddin-siddiqui-and-sharddha-kapoor

The post was enough to ignite a debate on the social media platform. It was Shraddha Kapoor who spoke about the post recently. Busy with the shooting of her upcoming film Haseena Parkar, Shraddha told a leading daily, “I have always said that personally, my definition of beauty is very different. You can come from any background or caste, you can have any skin colour, but I feel true beauty radiates from within. Of course, I feel that in our society there are pressures, but I don’t agree that it’s only in the film industry. Our industry is always in the limelight and that’s the reason it gets highlighted.”

She added, “I feel what’s important is how to deal with that pressure, and understand the things that truly matter. I feel that there are pressures but its how you handle them that matters. I feel beauty is skin deep.”

Last year only, in an interview, Nawazuddin praised for being fair and giving priority to talent over good looks.

To read this news in Punjabi subscribe to our newsletter.

